When Summer Comes - Level 4 Intermediate Reader

Author(s): Helen Naylor

English Readers

Award-winning original fiction for learners of English. A hot summer and a holiday by the sea: Stephen and Anna Martins are escaping their stressful lives in London, and taking a holiday in the south-west of England. They make friends with a local fisherman, but when Stephen is called back to London for work, Anna is left alone for a few days. And then something happens which changes their lives for ever.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

'The book ends with a big question mark, which is both exciting and disturbing. The funny thing is that you really want to know what's going to happen next. If you are the sort of person who is keen on romance mixed with suspense, this is the book for you.' EL Gazette 'What distinguishes the series from all the others is the zest and freshness of the text. Where the emphasis in other series is on plain and straightforward language, Cambridge English Reading texts typically use very modern expressions and the dialogue is faster moving. This has an impact on the quality of the audio cassettes, which make for very enjoyable listening.' David R. Hill, Survey Review: Readers, ELT Journal 'It was only a matter of time before a major ELT publisher set out to challenge the market dominance of Penguin Classics in the area of readers ... CUP have hit back admirably. With something for everyone in your classes, this series is well worth investing in. In fact, it's going to be a difficult act to follow by other publishers.' IATEFL Issues 'The series breaks new ground in two respects. The first is the light and informal style of writing. It is notoriously difficult to write fluent prose using restricted lexis and syntax. Part of the secret is to use word and grammar lists flexibly; but it requires flair and a good ear to produce prose and dialogue that read so well and give such a genuine flavour of modern idiom.' English Teaching Professional 'This is a well presented, authentic looking series of readers that students should enjoy. They are graded into five levels, and the accompanying cassette will be useful, especially for pronunciation - audio versions are very popular with students.' Josephine Caruana, Network News, Issue 34


1. The city heat; 2. On the way; 3. Polreath; 4. Exploring the village; 5. Philpots; 6. The phone call; 7. Tristan comes for dinner; 8. On Wave Dancer; 9. Dinner at Gino's; 10. Stephen's return; 11. Back to normal; 12. Decision time; 13. A visit from Jill; 14. Anna's last trip; 15. A stormy night; 16. The end of the affair.

General Fields

  • : 9780521656115
  • : Cambridge University Press
  • : Cambridge University Press
  • : 0.13
  • : April 1999
  • : 196mm X 130mm X 9mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Helen Naylor
  • : Paperback
  • : 428.64
  • : 80
  • : 1 line drawing